Top 3 Pages

Back to Previous


  • 950 Strings Road (no mail here, please), Steamboat Springs, CO, 80487
  • Overview

    Austria's enduring musical center produced these three varied and satisfying works from the time of Mozart to the early 20th century.
    This intriguing program opens with a rarely-heard suite composed by Erich Korngold for a 1920 Vienna production of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. Gustav Mahler’s only surviving chamber work, a piano quartet, is a glimpse of the artist from his student days. Mozart’s first string quintet completes the program with grace and charm.
    Korngold Four Short Pieces from Much Ado About Nothing, Op. 11
    Gustav Mahler Piano Quartet in A minor
    Mozart String Quintet No. 1 in B-flat Major, K. 174
    Violin: Vijay Gupta, Stephen Rose
    Viola: Leah Ferguson, Mark Jackobs
    Cello: Joel Noyes
    Piano: Benjamin Hochman

  • Event Details