Routt County Communities

The settlements within Routt County share the beauty of Northwest Colorado while offering distinctive lifestyles, community character and business opportunities.

Steamboat Springs

The largest incorporated town in Routt County, Steamboat Springs is an employment center, tourist destination and home to 12,260 residents.


Located on U.S. Highway 40 25 miles west of Steamboat Springs, Hayden is an incorporated town with a population of 1,800, an historic downtown with restaurants and services, and range of residential and commercial opportunities. Yampa Valley Regional Airport is located within the town limits. Learn More

Oak Creek

The town of Oak Creek, which was incorporated in 1907, is the largest community in south Routt County, with a population of 873. Oak Creek is home to the South Routt School District’s middle and high schools, affordable commercial space, a variety of housing options, and a range of services including a bank, pharmacy, grocery, restaurants, medical center, churches, community center, library, lodging and stores. In-town recreation options include a seasonal ice hockey rink, bike park, tennis courts and nordic ski trails. Learn More


The town of Yampa, first homesteaded in 1881, developed and grew as the gateway to the Flat Tops Wilderness Area and the east portal to the Flat Tops Trail Scenic Byway. With a population of 436, Yampa is home to the South Routt School District’s elementary school for kindergarten through fifth grades and the public preschool South Routt Early Learning Center operated by Northwest Colorado BOCES. The variety of amenities in town includes the library, three parks, seasonal ice skating rink, convenience store/gas station, general store, lodging, two churches and restaurants including a 24-hour diner. The Yampa-Egeria Museum is housed in a 1904 bank building at 100 Main St. The town is known for such fun events as July 3-4 festivities including the annual cowboy horse polo game, parade and fireworks.

Unincorporated Routt County

Unincorporated Routt County includes the communities of Clark, Hahns Peak, Milner, Phippsburg, Toponas and Stagecoach, all with great natural beauty, an uncrowded rural lifestyle, and access to outdoor recreation.